National Solid Waste Management Commission —There is hereby established a National Solid Waste Management Commission, hereinafter referred to as the Commission, under the Office of the President. The Commission shall be composed of fourteen (14) members from the government sector and three (3) members from the private sector. The government sector shall be represented by the heads of the following agencies in their ex officio capacity:

The Commission may, from time to time, call on any other concerned agencies or sectors as it may deem necessary. Provided, That representatives from the NGOs, recycling and manufacturing or packaging industries shall be nominated through a process designed by themselves and shall be appointed by the President for a term of three (3) years. Provided, further, That the Secretaries of the member agencies of the Commission shall formulate action plans for their respective agencies to complement the National Solid Waste Management Framework.

The Department Secretary and a private sector representative of the Commission shall serve as chairman and vice chairman, respectively. The private sector representatives of the Commission shall be appointed on the basis of their integrity, high degree of professionalism
and having distinguished themselves in environmental and resource management. The members of the Commission shall serve and continue to hold office until their successors shall have been appointed and qualified. Should a member of the Commission fail to complete his/her term, the successor shall be appointed by the President of the Philippines but only for the unexpired portion of the term. Finally, the members shall be entitled to reasonable traveling expenses and honoraria.

The Department, through the Environmental Management Bureau, shall provide secretariat support to the Commission. The Secretariat shall be headed by an executive director who shall be nominated by the members of the Commission and appointed by the chairman.